a frog legs weekend

I hope everyone had a lovely weekend, probably with more sun and warmth than us folks in Seattle!

Ever since I came back from Vietnam, I feel like my weekends have been more and more unproductive {but very relaxing}. Maybe I’m just preparing myself for ANOTHER move at the end of May, which basically means there’s going to be another big change in mine and N’s lifestyle.

So I didn’t get as much done as I thought/hoped I would. I did watch a very sweet and touching Italian movie Life is Beautiful, though. The main character really moved me, and watching him brought back memories of my dad {again}. But what doesn’t nowadays? Anyway, I highly recommend this movie for everyone. :-)

I also tried cooking with frog legs (albeit the recipe I found online turned out to be a not-so-great one) over the weekend. I wanted to fry the frozen frog legs I bought from the local Asian supermarket. Unfortunately, they only come frozen around here, so that was probably the first sign telling me it wasn’t going to be as good (also considering how tricky frog {legs} meat can be).


Marinade: flour, beaten eggs, chopped green onions + garlic, salt, pepper (sit for 1 hour)


Cooking: fried in oil until brown (in this case, I should have deep-fried the legs instead so the batter is evenly coated)


Results: the meat was a little tough and the batter marinade + frying method added no flavor or crispness to the legs.

I will have to try a different recipe next time! I still love frog legs, though. And I’ll always remember the best frog legs salad I’ve ever had in Vietnam several years ago.

Tagged , , ,

17 thoughts on “a frog legs weekend

  1. Yeri says:

    Wow! I’ve never had frog legs before – I think I’m too afraid to try! But those look delicious! I think it’s because it’s fried. =P

  2. Kaho says:

    I’ve never had frog legs in my life! Your photos make them look yummy though. The photos look great! I noticed that you cover the stove tray with foil. That’s what I do, too! I’m not a big fan of deep frying because I don’t know what to do with the left over oil, but I agree, it does make the batter evenly coated.

  3. bookjunkie says:

    I had a wonderful time in Ho Chi Minh and can’t wait to explore Hanoi as well if I ever get a chance :) I miss the food!

  4. frog legs are tough to make. i’ve had them at my grandmothers but afraid i couldn’t venture to make them on my own. but i’m not opposed to having them if prepared properly. yum.

  5. Harold says:

    The bubbles in the frying pan made them like they were looking back, kinda eerie! :)

  6. Lady Sparrow says:

    Hello, just stumbled on your blog through freshly pressed.

    I love frog legs!! I love them battered (which supposed to taste a bit like fried chicken, only they have more tender meat); butter fried; and lastly as a soup, called ‘Swikee’ (read: swee-keh).
    Here in Indonesia we can get fresh ones from the market when in season.
    Here’s a recipe for swikee that I found on the net. Most of them are in Indonesian, so here’s a translated version.

    “Swikee”
    Ingredients:

    500 grams of frog, cleaned, cut into pieces
    5 cm young ginger, sliced ​​very thin
    4 cloves garlic, smash
    3 tablespoons sweet taoco / fermented soy – you can find this sold in Asian market, sold in jars usually
    4 tablespoons soy sauce
    1 teaspoon pepper powder
    1 teaspoon granulated sugar
    1 / 2 teaspoon salt
    1-2 stalks celery, sliced
    500 ml water

    How to cook:

    1.Heat oil, saute garlic and ginger until fragrant, then add taoco, then mix evenly.

    2.Put in frog, soy sauce, and pepper, stir well, cover until the frog becomes stiff. Open the lid and then,

    3.Add water, stir well, cook for another 20 mins.

    4.Put in sugar and salt, stir briefly, remove from heat, then sprinkle it with celery.

    Serve with lime, soy sauce, chili sauce and white rice.

    And you can find the recipe for the butter-fried one here:
    http://mochachocolatarita.blogspot.com/2010/08/kodok-goreng-mentega-indonesian-butter.html

    hope it helps!!

  7. gokonnect says:

    hmmm hmm… i am not so sure… i’m sure it tastes nice though..

  8. gokonnect says:

    i’ll probably use chicken ;)

  9. Bunny Eats Design says:

    I am impressed. You are such a daring cook. I’ve never eaten or cooked frogs legs, but I would if I had the opportunity. Your photos came out great. They look crisp, even if you say they weren’t. I wish we had tried frogs legs when we visited Vietnam at the start of this year, but we never saw them or sought them out. I didn’t know they were eaten there to be perfectly honest. Do frogs legs have skin when you buy them? Or do they come “naked”?

    • they come naked, frozen. i think that’s best unless you’re getting “fresh” frogs somewhere. but yeah, in vietnam i dont think many places have frog legs on their menu. you might have to ask a local for a special restaurant. :-)

Leave a Reply

