pad thai + happy friday

Happy friday, everyone!
Don’t forget to check out my shop on Etsy today!

. . . . .

Yep, one of my favorite Thai dishes is pad thai. Preferably with tofu or shrimp. And 3 or 4 stars spicy–depending on the restaurant. We had some pad thai takeout the other night in Auburn, and it was actually decent + cheap. I feel like making pad thai is kind of tricky because of the noodles you’re working with and the right kind of sauce.

Well, I found a great recipe (below) that seems pretty close to the “right” pad thai you’ll get at authentic Thai restaurants. I think I’ll share this recipe with my mom as she’s been wanting to try making some at home.

Pim’s Pad Thai

vegetable oil (for frying)
12 oz. chicken (2 oz. per serving)
4 cloves (10g) minced garlic (about 1/2+ clove per serving)
sauce (see below) (about 1/4 cup per serving)
1 lb. (500g) rice noodles, soaked in warm water to soften (but not too soft)
6 eggs (1 egg per serving)
1 lb. shrimp, peeled and deveined (4-6 shrimp per serving)
1 cup (155g) ground peanuts (1-2 tbsps per serving)
3-4 cups bean sprouts (1/2 cup per serving)
1/2 cup (75g) pickled turnips, chopped (1+ tbsp per serving)
1 cup garlic chives or green onions, chopped (2 tbsps per serving)
more sprouts (garnish)
fresh limes (garnish)

sauce
1/2 cup (130g) tamarind paste
1/2 cup (120g) fish sauce
1/3 cup (75g) brown sugar
1 tbsp (9g) chili powder (to taste)

Over a low flame, heat the tamarind, fish sauce, and brown sugar together until the sugar is dissolved. Stir in the chili powder a teaspoon at a time to desired spiciness. Bring the sauce to a simmer. Turn off the heat (keep sauce warm).

The key is to cook up 1-2 servings at a time! Heat 2-3 tablespoons of oil in wok or large frying pan over high heat.

Add 2 ounces of chicken and stir-fry until it is half cooked. Add 1-2 tablespoons of sauce, and a pinch of garlic. Stir around and add about 2 cups of loosely packed (for me, a big handful) of rice noodles plus 1/4 cup of sauce to the pan and stir vigorously until the noodles soften. If it dries out, you can add some water. Push the noodles to the side and crack an egg into the pan. Let the egg cook for 10 seconds and then toss the noodles and egg together in the pan.

Drop 4-6 shrimp, a couple of tablespoons of ground peanuts, a heaping tablespoon of turnip, and 1/2 cup of sprouts into the pan. Stir fry until the shrimp are just cooked (very fast – about a minute).

Toss in the green onions or garlic chives and remove from heat. Serve hot with more sprouts, ground peanuts, and lime wedges for garnish.

{Image and recipe above from use real butter}
{Original recipe from chez pim}

Tagged , ,

131 thoughts on “pad thai + happy friday

  1. Oh yummy..That recipe sounds delicious. Thanks,sweetie and wish you an amazing Valentine’s day
    Muah

  2. Kaho says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!! My husband and I love Pad Thai, too, but I don’t have a good recipe, so I will definitely try this! We just got back from Thailand last week, so I got excited to see this! Your photos on your blog are so beautiful!!

  3. Stacy says:

    That sounds good! I’ll be trying this recipe out! :)

  4. oooh!!! i looove phad thai! i’m going to try this! thanks for sharing!

    xo,
    anna

  5. That sounds awesome. I think I’d prefer it with the shrimp. But either would be good.

  6. enjoibeing says:

    mmm tasty. good looking appetizing photo. nice recipe.

  7. Lakia Gordon says:

    The shrimp look amazing! Happy Friday!!

  8. trialsinfood says:

    looks good. you know the best place for pad thai? off a boat on the beaches of thailand. :)

  9. I adore Pad Thai! And eating it in Bangkok is the best! I look forward to trying your recipe.

    Congrats on FP-ed! Hang on for the ride!

    Kathy

  10. Liza says:

    LOOKS SO DELICIOUS!!

  11. Kim says:

    I love Phad Thai so much! SO yummy!

  12. luwakcoffe says:

    hmmmm,… yummmi. you can not send me one plate,…. but at least you write the recipe.

    share unique coffee information:
    http://luwakcoffe.wordpress.com/luwak-coffee-unique-history/

  13. Yum! I can’t wait to try this!

  14. This looks fabulous.. I’ll attempt it without the chicken and I’m sure it’ll still be delicious. Thanks!

  15. writerdood says:

    Looks awesome. Will give it a try.

  16. Sunny says:

    I absolutely LOVE Pad Thai! I “ruin” mine by covering it in Sriracha but it’s just so delicious! This post makes me want to make this tonight!

  17. Angelo says:

    oh absulutely love pad thai!! now you got me hungry. it’s lunch time now so … off t thai rest..

  18. All County Insurance - Brea, California says:

    Looks amazing! I’ll take mine with some tofu though as I’m allergic to shrimp! Pad Thai is one of my fav! Thanks for sharing and congrats on being FP.

  19. YUm YUM YUM! I had to click on this and ended up ordering take-out thai food for lunch :) I’ll have to make my own next time!! Here’s a recipe for my lavender lemon drop to wash it down: http://mrscummingsrx.wordpress.com/2011/01/24/lavender-lemon-drop/

    Have a great weekend!!!

  20. myblogject says:

    I have just eaten my dinner. I am now hungry again since looking/reading this post. I blame this post. Looks amazing!

  21. This looks fantastic. Great photos as well! This isn’t a dish I would traditionally attempt to make at home, but you’ve tempted me!
    http://www.modestcupboard.wordpress.com
    cheers!

  22. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

    Pad Thai is not my favorite, in fact, I can’t stand it. It’s the fish sauce I don’t like. However, it looks so pretty in the bowl with two slices of lime and sprinkles of chive.

    Happy Friday!

  23. suebthefoodie says:

    Yum. Can’t wait to try! Thank you for sharing your find!

  24. Harold says:

    This sounds delicious! Have not tried shrimp or making a sauce. My wife uses Ramen noodles, we all like it. She also sautes peppers in chili oil then we add the leftover sauce if we want more spice. Congrats on being FP!

  25. BREWPRINTS says:

    This made me very hungry. I’m going to cook this tonight for my boyfriend but substitute tofu for shrimp!

  26. I am so in love with shrimp pad thai. Your recipe sounds so yummy, and the photo is beautiful. Love the limes. It’s all about the accessories, right?

  27. smilesndreams says:

    I love love nooodles as well!! Looks delicious. Happy Friday :)

  28. QRI says:

    Thanks so much for the recipe! Great pic too. Can’t wait to try it out!

    Congrats on fp :)

  29. Tisha says:

    mmm..the Pad Thai looks delicious (: I’m Thai, so my mom makes this dish sometimes :D

  30. Jim Handy says:

    Thanks for this recipe. How about one for Swimming Rama?

  31. Pad Thai is my favorite Thai food. I will try your recipe.

  32. I’m heading off to Thailand for three months at the beginning of May, so this post made me really happy. I love Pad Thai too, but Pad See Ew is my favourite Thai noodle dish (well I think it is, I’m sure I haven’t tried anywhere close to all of them). Great recipe, i might try it out before I leave to get me in the Thai spirit!

  33. Looks delicious!!!!I love noodle!

  34. jollice says:

    love thai food….

  35. doucefatale says:

    looks delicious! I would love to cook this!

  36. looks so yummy.. :) will try mine.. :) Thank you for sharing. :)

  37. jollof says:

    Ah….look at the size of those prawns! mmmm…yum

  38. whatsaysyou says:

    This dish looks yummy and I want some of that pad thai :)

  39. barrycyrus says:

    Drooling here HAHA

  40. jundybaka says:

    i really loves noodles too XD
    thats look so delicoious angie,
    i will try to make it in my kitchen :D

  41. oooh!!! i looove phad thai! i’m going to try this! thanks for sharing!
    http://www.freeflashgames.asia/

  42. Miki says:

    looks nice.must be tasty

  43. funnyinnews says:

    My mouth started to secrete saliva

  44. An absolutely gorgeous pad thai :)

    “I couldn’t help it. I can resist everything except temptation. ”
    –Oscar Wilde

  45. 9medusa says:

    this sounds so much easy that i am tempted to try. I liked your sauce recipe.

  46. detrie says:

    Looks really yummy–thanks for sharing the recipe!

  47. I love Pad Thai! I’ve been eating it since I was six! Did you take the picture of it yourself? It looks delicious.

  48. sketchjay says:

    Yummy post – thanks!

  49. Maria says:

    wow! that looks great and thanks for the tip on cooking 1.5 servings at a time. I may actually be able to pull this off at home. *grin*

  50. That looks so delish! And the recipe don’t seem too difficult to make… this is going in my recipe book!

  51. jule1 says:

    You made me want Pad Thai! So my husband and I went out on Friday, tried and new Thai restaurant near us, and I had a very good Pad Thai. After reading your blog and seeing the pics, I just had to! Yum.

  52. realanonymousgirl2011 says:

    That looks absolutely de-lish!!! I should eat more thai food.

  53. Roda says:

    U have followed you to keep this recipe handy…sounds delicious. Thanks for sharing it.

  54. TheBlackTwig says:

    Oooh! I had this when I was in Bangkok. And it was amazing. :)

  55. […] pad thai + happy friday (via noodle ‘n thread) Posted: April 17, 2011 by yaywestwick in Uncategorized 0 Happy friday, everyone! Don't forget to check out my shop on Etsy today! . . . . . Yep, one of my favorite Thai dishes is pad thai. Preferably with tofu or shrimp. And 3 or 4 stars spicy–depending on the restaurant. We had some pad thai takeout the other night in Auburn, and it was actually decent + cheap. I feel like making pad thai is kind of tricky because of the noodles you're working with and the right kind of sauce. Well, I found a great r … Read More […]

  56. joowita says:

    Im sure i will try it soon… looks delicious!!! :-)

  57. Grace says:

    Looks really yummy… my hubby’s fav.

    Thanks

  58. Gian Ramos says:

    This looks soo0 delicious! and I bet it is :)
    Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  59. travelingmad says:

    That looks delicious!! Wish I had some right now.

  60. […] Happy friday, everyone! Don't forget to check out my shop on Etsy today! . . . . . Yep, one of my favorite Thai dishes is pad thai. Preferably with tofu or shrimp. And 3 or 4 stars spicy–depending on the restaurant. We had some pad thai takeout the other night in Auburn, and it was actually decent + cheap. I feel like making pad thai is kind of tricky because of the noodles you're working with and the right kind of sauce. Well, I found a great r … Read More […]

  61. Acooy says:

    This makes me so hungry. Oh yummy

  62. This is a great. I love the recipes here. Now I am so hungry.

  63. This looks so yummy! I love noodles too!

  64. Ipodman says:

    That pic made me hungry, haha…I always get the noodles when I go to a Thai restaurant… :)

  65. Thanks so much for the recipe! Great pic too. Can’t wait to try it out!

  66. bluemixer says:

    Yum! That looks amaaaaaaazing. :) I love pad thai.

  67. Ida Berg says:

    Pad thai is one of my favorite dishes and I will absolutly try your recepie. It looks so good!

  68. rsmacaalay says:

    That pad thai looks so delicious, its making me hungry now

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  69. Im sure i will try it soon… looks delicious!!! :-)

  70. hi

    delicious!

    when i saw the name, pim’s pad thai, i was wondering about where you got the recipe. i remember when i was in thailand, on phi-phi island, there is a a cooking school and restaurant, called Pim’s. and pim is a wonderful lady there teaching people to cook thai. we had a most enjoyable night there, and really connected with pim’s mum – a sweet and dear old thai lady.

    would this maybe be the one and same pim??

    oh how i miss the thai food! one just doesn’t get anything like it in south africa.

  71. Akshay Nair says:

    Loving the recipe! I’m a fan of the cuisine. Congratulations on being freshly pressed too.

  72. chocolatespacemonkey says:

    oh thank you!

  73. oh my…… that i got to try making!! i love thai food especially pad thai! seafood pad thai is the best!

  74. oh and don’t forget the sauce!!!! chilli sauce!!!

  75. investment says:

    Great recipe! Looks good!

  76. erna sampetorro says:

    soo delicious…..i wanna try it but i think it will not be the same with yours……

  77. i’m already hungry looking at the pics. i love thai food!

  78. engLandofOz says:

    Yum! I will definitely be making this dish sometime soon! Thanks for the recipe!
    Kate
    http://englandofoz.wordpress.com/

  79. Looks amazing! I’ll take mine with some tofu though as I’m allergic to shrimp! Pad Thai is one of my fav! Thanks for sharing and congrats on being FP.

  80. mercyhn says:

    I’ve been trying so hard to make this but I failed repeatedly many times. I think I got the wrong types of noodles. Thanks for the recipe. I shall try again!! Phad Thai is too good for me to give up :)

    http://hindsightnotes.tumblr.com/

  81. EDC-Booking “www.edc-booking.com” We are ready to present services and air tickets. Booking. Cheap Flights to all the flights. Via the online ticket booking. We have been trusted by the Ministry of Commerce. Online air ticket booking.

Leave a Reply

