chickens and gatherings

A couple chicken dishes from the family’s Tet celebration yesterday. Top: chicken wings deep fried in fish sauce. Bottom: baked chicken feet marinated in ginger, chili peppers, and soy sauce. The chicken feet {made by my cousin who is the head cook at a restaurant} was probably my favorite dish out of all the rest.

Tet (Vietnamese New Year) at home this year didn’t have my sister, her husband and Nam. Everything ended around 1pm, and I couldn’t exactly leave so I took a long nap and idled around the house the rest of the day. We usually do a second round of Tet gathering the following day, so I’ll be driving down again tonight for leftovers.

Throughout the day, my mom kept pointing out my cut (which I hope is starting to heal correctly and forming nasty-looking dried-up pus to protect the cut) and telling everyone that it was because of Link (the original cut, yes) and it’s my fault for having a cat, etc. She still didn’t grasp the fact that my cut was inflamed and got worse because I kept reapplying Neosporin and this triple antibiotic ointment (from work) on the wound. I went to the doctor the other day and found out I was in the 25% group of people allergic to at least one of the active ingredients in Neosporin and other triple antibiotic ointments. At the end of the day, she’s still blaming me for getting a cat. And I can’t believe I didn’t find this out until now. Maybe that’s why my previous burn took months to heal. I should do a full allergy test one of these days.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “chickens and gatherings

  1. Linda says:

    oh no! that’s terrible that you’re allergic to healing ointments. Are there alternatives? =( That’s okay, I’m allergic to sun screen…

Leave a Reply

