go vegetarian

“25 Vegetarian and Vegan Meals from 2009” in The Kitchn’s Best Recipes of 2009. Featured here: Tofu Steak with Miso and Ginger, Grilled Eggplant Topped with Goat Cheese and Tomato, Vietnamese Sandwich with Lemongrass Tofu, and Potato Tacos.

I finally discovered The Kitchn’s food blog from Apartment Therapy (where you can view great house tours and endless interior ideas). I could probably be a vegetarian if I wanted to, considering how much I love vegetables and also the fact that I don’t eat as much meat. I could also talk about vegetables all day–not in the dietary or nutritious way, but how each of them can be prepared in so many different ways that would make your meal bursts with colors and textures!

Among the delicious vegetarian ingredients above, tofu has to be my favorite. Tofu is versatile and provides nutrients like calcium, protein, B-vitamins, and isoflavones (which reduces the risk of osteoporosis, breast and prostate cancer). It also reduces the chance of heart disease by lowering the level of the “bad” LDL cholesterol, and as the result maintaining the level of “good” HDL cholesterol. But honestly, I just like eating tofu for its texture, versatility, and taste.

While I was living in Japan, the family of a boy I tutored/babysat took me to a tofu restaurant in Nagoya. My first all-tofu experience consisted of an unforgettable 10-course meal. Each dish was either inspired or invented to embody the main ingredient. You can find some photos I took on my Flickr, although they hardly do any justice to how great the meal was.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

