2010

Reflecting on the previous year, it seems as though 2009 was the fastest year of my life. Of course, at the end of every year, I tend to think that way, but really, last year deserves to be at the top of the list. It was only spring when I got engaged and shortly after that, I finally moved out and have been living happily with my fiance. Now it’s January of 2010. Though I only had those two biggest events happened, I would happily think back on other smaller ones that also took place in 2009. The year did take a bad turn and ended horribly, but we’ve made peace with that somehow. Now we wait patiently for a big U-turn down this new road to make things better again.

And as Monk would probably say for this year, it’s an even number 10. I stopped trying list resolutions for each new year, and instead, I think about the life goals I want to work on in a broader sense. I’ll always have lists of things to do tomorrow, next week, in a couple months, or by the end of the year. All those little things I accomplished will eventually bring me closer to my goals. It goes without saying that this is another year of new uncertainties, adventures, risks, mistakes, excitement, and most importantly, new memories.

                                                                               … … …

One of my favorite fish to cook and eat is Tilapia because their meat is tender and has a subtle sweet taste to it. I usually grill this fish on a shallow frying pan until it’s slightly brown to get that crispiness layer on the outside, then adding the meal with different side dishes each time, including rice. I also discovered that topping the fish off with a dab of cocktail sauce mixed with horseradish is surprisingly delicious!

Grilled Tilapia w/ Asparagus and Rice

1 tsp olive oil
a pinch of minced garlic
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
ground pepper
1 tsp cocktail sauce
1 tsp cream horseradish
1/2 cup of cut asparagus
a few slices of red onions
2 stalks of green onions, cut
1 fillet of tilapia
1 cup of steamed rice

1. Cook rice in a rice cooker or steamer.
2. Sprinkle a little salt and ground pepper on both sides of the fillet before frying
3. Heat frying pan until hot, then add 1/2 olive oil
4. Cook fillet on the frying pan on medium-high heat until each side is slightly brown
5. Remove fillet from frying pan
6. Add the rest of the olive oil on the pan, along with the minced garlic
7. Saute the oil for about 30 seconds, then add asparagus and onions
8. Stir and cook for about 3 minutes
9. Put everything on the plate and add your cocktail sauce and cream horseradish.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

