a new year

Leavenworth, WA {2010}

Good bye, 2011.

I hope that there should be no more of the kind of year worse than the one you’ve given me. You took away from me one of the very few important people in my life through a tragic accident, and I just can’t get myself to be the same person again. A new day or a new year won’t change the past, so all I can rightfully hope is that life may slowly and imperfectly mend itself from here on out. For what it’s worth, you did present me with a better job and a closer relationship with my mom. But at the end you still turned ugly. We had to put down our newly found kitten, who had developed a fatal disease at barely 12 weeks old. It was the second hardest thing I ever had to deal with. The holidays became extremely difficult and unbearable. I kept wishing for everything and everyone to be over quickly and get on with January already. But I do apologize if I’ve been lackluster with the holiday wishes and cheers.

Good bye forever, 2011. I won’t ever forget you.

Hello, 2012.

I hope you’ll be a better one. I have some big goals I want you to see through, and a few little ones along the way. I’m just going to try to grasp on anything I [think] still have control over in this life. But in no particular order; I want to owe nothing more to the education I now realized was a worthless 2 years [mistake] of my life. This is going to be tough and most likely drawn out til the end of the year. Second, the Seattle-to-Portland bicycle trip? Yeah, I want to go through with it and push myself (physically). Which leads to my next goal: exercise/stay fit/work out/be active. Whatever you call it, I’m going to be doing it. It’s always been a very passive new year’s resolution but, I could feel this year will be different. I did get a 2 days head-start already–very proud of myself! And then there are a few more things I’d like to accomplish (or at least begin) this year, but I’ll bring them up to you later once I get my head wrapped around those ideas for at least a while.

You’ll see.

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “a new year

  1. oh, i had no idea about the kitty, but hopefully things will look up this year. it has to. hope things work out for you this year!

  2. Hi Angie, I do hope 2012 will be a much better year for you, all i can do is give you a big hug from very far away, but I am thinking of you as i am sure many others xxxx A

  3. linda says:

    this is one of the best and heart-felt posts you’ve posted here, and i’m very lucky and happy to read it and have you as one of my closest friends for life. =)

    i’m sorry for so much that you’ve lost in 2011, and i know it’ll be part of you forever, but i am glad that 2012 is here and that we can both share it together.

    boo to 2011, and hooray to 2012!

  4. rachel says:

    I’m sorry you had such a rough year… I have a feeling that 2012 will be so much better for you! looking forward to many more dinners out :)

  5. allyn says:

    wishing you all the best for twenty twelve, angie. i’m on a similar journey for the new year. twenty eleven was rough for me as well. i’m hoping + working on making the days to come better. i know you are, too! take care.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 382 other followers

